What’s for Dinner? {in Des Moines}

Standard
What’s for Dinner? {in Des Moines}

Hey all – I’m subbing in again since Nanc’ won’t be on menu detail this week. Although some of you are seeing daffodils coming up and are ready for meals of fiddlehead ferns and dandelion greens, around here snow is still falling and we’re stuck on comfort food for a bit (you may notice a “cheesy” theme).  Here goes:

Monday: Cheesy Enchilada Casserole with Spanish Rice
Also, since I’m hosting a meeting with my women’s team, I’ll be trying these zucchini, carrot and cranberry muffins – don’t they look delish?

Tuesday: cheesy (told you) Taco Soup with Salad
My sweetest friend, Jenn, will be joining us for dinner and she picked this out, plus it’s from iowa girl eats so it has to be good, right?

Wednesday:  Smothered Chicken and Couscous
This looks to me like everything I like piled on top of each other…sauteed mushrooms and creamed spinach over chicken, mmmmm.

Thursday:  Broiled Salmon, Green Salad and Rolls
For the salmon, I like this rub recipe (which is good on everything) and for the salad I want to try this dressing.

“There’s the Rub”
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/8 cup seasoned salt
1/8 cup paprika
1/8 cup barbecue spice
1/8 cup garlic salt
1 Tablespoon onion salt
1 Tablespoon celery salt
1 Tablespoon chili seasoning (not powder)
1 Tablespoon ground pepper
1 Tablespoon lemon pepper
1/2 Tablespoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Mix all together and store in an airtight container.

Saturday:  Cinnamon Roll Cake, Pesto Pasta Salad, Party Punch
I’m throwing my second annual Favorite Things party on Saturday morning (if you aren’t familiar, just search Pinterest) – so these are the recipes I’m trying.

Note from Nancy: Big thanks to my sister-friend, Cathy, for subbing in for me again this week. Glenn and I are heading off to sunny Arizona for a few days. Yippee! Won’t be at all sad to wave goodbye to drippy Portland for a few days! Enjoy her menu–looks fantastic to me and definitely better than fiddlehead ferns!

Leave a Reply

