I’m sorry, what?

Standard
I’m sorry, what?

I was planning to post a fun entry about cute lettering and print design but I just have to tell someone about the conversation I’ve just been having.

Glenn went back to the office for a while tonight and Dad went to pick someone up at the airport (Al’s Airport Services, ha ha) so Mom and I have been sitting here waiting for them to come home. Here’s what our conversation sounded like…

Mom: Did you know him?

Me: Know who?

Mom: Okay.

Me: No, I’m happy to answer, who are you talking about?

Mom: Okay.

…..

Mom: Oh, Honey, what happened to your…

Me: To my?

Mom: Well did you?

…..

Mom: mumble mumble

Me: I’m sorry, what?

Mom: What did you say?

Me: I asked what you said!

Both: laugh hysterically

…..

Mom: Are you having a boy or a girl?

Me: I’m not having a baby.

Mom: Oh, you’re not?

Me: Nope, I can’t have babies.

Mom: (completely shocked and sad) Oh can’t you?

Me: (trying to avoid the fresh sadness that she is feeling and feeling kind of sick myself) Maybe you’re thinking about the girl across the street. I think she’s expecting.

I don’t have any insight or wise take away. Wish I did. Wish there was some kind of meaning in all of this. And I’m looking for it but so far it just seems hard. So here’s what I’ve got: let’s live our lives, you and me, so that if our minds somehow betray us some day, we are quick to laugh and generous with our compassion, just like my mom.

4 responses »

  1. Oh, Nancy, “what you’ve got” is beautiful! I’m going to share it with my co-workers who work in a memory care community: “Let’s live our lives, you and me, so that if our minds somehow betray us some day, we are quick to laugh and generous with our compassion.” Thank you for sharing — it brings tears to my eyes.

  2. Nanc’ she asked me the same thing too at Thanksgiving. I just simply said ” nope Grandma, just getting fat”. She had a good laugh which made me happy. Win/win right?

Leave a Reply

