The Land Between

Standard
The Land Between

The Land Between: I’ve been thinking a lot about this. It’s a fantastic book by Jeff Manion. His premise (with which I wholeheartedly agree) is that sometimes we find ourselves stuck between–whether in jobs or relationships or health or insert-your-situation-here. There are simply times when we must wait. Oh, how I hate that word sometimes. I feel as though I’ve been in one of those odd spaces for, well, years at this point. (I’m hopeful that it isn’t because I’m a slow learner!) Based on the adventures (or misadventures?) of the Children of Israel in the book of Exodus, Mr. Manion suggests that the wilderness, or Land Between, is not barren, rather it is fertile ground–for complaint or for growth. Our outcome depends on our own heart cry. Wow, do I want my outcome to be growth and not that whiny-bitterness that the King James describes as “stubborn and stiff-necked.”

Scripture tells us “It is good to wait on the Lord.” And to that I have often raised my resounding “No, it isn’t.” (Clenched fist optional.) As far as I’m concerned, waiting=not good. But I am learning to rest in the journey, to trust His timing. A friend posted today that God is concerned with timing, not time. And His timing is always right. So I am learning to sit here, to do what I know to do, to trust Him to put me where I need to be when I need to be.

Don’t get me wrong, I have not arrived. I still push and pull against my circumstances. I still cry a good cry, miss my community, and do the I-don’t-want-to-dance more than I’d like to admit. But in the midst of it, in the space between my tantrums, I am learning to rest and praying that this will become fertile ground for me.

What about you? Are you stuck in a transition? What steps are you taking to ensure that this becomes a place of growth for you and not complaint? I’d love to hear about your successes–I may have to add them to my own resolutions!

P.S. You can listen to Jeff Manion on his podcasts from Ada Bible Church or get his book on Amazon. It’s also available for Kindle.

Leave a Reply

