Hope and Light and a Well-deliberated Plan…

Standard
Hope and Light and a Well-deliberated Plan…

It’s happened again. You know those times when everywhere you turn the same message comes at you. So here I am again.

Every once in a while the out-of-my-controlness of my situation backs up on me. Most of the time I’m fine but sometimes, not so much. Every once in a while I allow the circumstances of my life to dictate to my emotions and that is never good. If I could get the timing right, it would be a fantastic prompt for my running–nothing sounds so good as getting out and away and active when I am feeling completely out of control–but of course somehow I only pitch a nutty after dark.

But I am reminded this morning, in the light of day, that despite the fact that nothing feels quite right to me, God is still in control. And even though I push and strain against our current situation, I am confident that this is exactly where we should be. I was reminded by my morning reading from Bread for the Journey. Here’s what Mr. Nouwen had to say today:

Enough Light for the Next Step
Often we want to be able to see into the future. We say, ‘How will next year be for me? Where will I be five or ten years from now?’ There are no answers to these questions. Mostly we have just enough light to see the next step: what we have to do in the coming hour or the following day. The art of living is to enjoy what we can see and not complain about what remains in the dark. When we are able to take the next step with the trust that we will have enough light for the step that follows, we can walk through life with joy and be surprised at how far we go. Let’s rejoice in the little light we carry and not ask for the great beam that would take all shadows away.

And my sweet friend, Lesli, posted this on facebook today…what a fantastic reminder!

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope in the power of the Holy Spirit. – Romans 15;13

Love that word: hope.

Last spring (and if I’m honest, summer) I did Beth Moore’s James study. In it she included a list of reasons to submit to God based on James 4:7. The one I claimed and have honestly wandered through the house mumbling is this:

He knows the well-deliberated plan for your life and how all things must fall into place for you to fulfill your destiny. So submit to God.

Love that phrase: well-deliberated plan.

So today I am thankful for the little light that I carry with me: enough to see me through today. I am confident that God has a well-deliberated plan for my life and is unsurprised by my current circumstance. I have His hope and accompanying joy and peace. So grateful.

2 responses »

  1. I’m so proud of you! You did it! Great encouragements…and reminders! Love the James 4:7 reminder too! ….yes! submit to Him! Praising Him for His plan for my life…even though it seems a bit foggy right now!

  2. 🙂 That word helped me a lot this morning, too. I felt pretty overwhelmed on New Year’s Eve this year for some reason, felt without hope for the new year for the first time in my life. Definitely in need of hope. Every phrase of this verse hit me this morning. Filled with all joy sounds great to me – not happiness, but joy based on God, not my circumstances or prospects. I’m reading/listening to Jerry Bridges’ Trusting God right now, and trusting in him is taking on a deeper meaning. And realizing every day that I can do nothing without the power of the Holy Spirit has been a lesson for the last several years… 🙂 The other verse that jumped out at me this morning was II Cor. 12:9 – “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” It seems God is continually calling me to minister out of my weaknesses rather than my strengths right now. Very interesting place of dependence…

    By the way, thanks for sharing the Nouwen quotes. I’ve had an interest to read him for a long time, but just have never gotten around to it. Francis Schaeffer is also on that need-to-read list for me.

    Praying for you as you lean into Him!

Leave a Reply

