What’s for Dinner {This Week}

Standard
What’s for Dinner {This Week}

There’s just two weeks left until Christmas and I am feeling like I should be farther ahead than I am. It’s doubtful that I’ll have another Christmas season like this before I turn 65 right? I don’t remember this every happening: no kids choir, no community choir, no church programs, no traveling, no job! If I can’t get it together this year, I think you should all give up on me. But because I want everything to be as planned/prepared as I can make it, I’m phoning it in again on dinner this week and turning my attention to some baking that I can do ahead. Here’s the plan for this week:

Monday: meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and green salad. This should be a feel-good menu if there ever was one. But sorry, no recipes. I also made a loaf of chai banana bread to freeze. It will get a cream cheese frosting when we enjoy it. Wow, right? I haven’t done it before so I don’t know how it will taste but man, oh, man, does it ever smell good! Here’s the link to the recipe from Cinnamon, Spice and Everything Nice.

Tuesday: dinner out. We’re having a family get-together so no cooking for me! Yippee! I am having a hankering for chocolate cake though so I’m planning to bake one up in the morning. They are perhaps the easiest dessert ever (when you use a Duncan Hines mix, which I always do) and people are always super impressed as though you’ve done something really remarkable.

Wednesday: undecided. Glenn and I have a meeting in the evening but that’s as much as we’ve got on the calendar. Until we know what time and where and how long and all those good details, I’m letting myself off the hook on this one.

Thursday: porkchops, wild rice with craisins and mandarin oranges, and creamed spinach. My MIL will be here for dinner. Sorry, no recipes, again. But I am planning to make some peanut butter cookies to freeze or give away for Christmas. Here’s the link I’m planning to try. It’s from AllRecipes.

Friday: taco salad. This is the week of no recipes. I might make some peanut clusters this day. They are always fun for Christmas gifts and the family would be so disappointed by their absence at Christmas.

Saturday: baked potatoes. I bought the ready-made, heat and serve BBQ beef to serve over this. Sadly, it’s not available without garlic so I’ll have to pass but otherwise this is a super easy, pretty yummy meal. (And even kind of real-food-ish for heat and serve.)

I made some gingersnaps last week thinking that I’d give some away but we’ve managed to eat them all. I just used the recipe off the back of the molasses bottle. I also made Perfect Dark Chocolate Sugar Cookies from Sweetapolita. They are pretty yumalicious but I have to admit it’s a kind of fussy recipe…lots of steps. Not to be whiny or anything, I mean, sugar cookies are kind of fussy by nature but these seemed uber-fussy: make the dough, chill the dough, roll the dough, chill the dough, cut out the dough, freeze the dough, bake the dough…repeat. Also, the recipe makes a ton. When I was making it I thought, this is a boat load of butter and flour, maybe I should half the recipe. But the directions say that it will make about 30 cookies depending on your cookie cutter. Since I didn’t want only 15 cookies I went for the whole thing. Which made a little more than six. dozen. cookies. Whoo-whee. We ate a few and stuck the rest in the freezer. Look out friends and neighbors–the perfect dark chocolate sugar cookie may be coming your way!

What about you? What’s on your Christmas baking list?

One response »

  1. I love reading your posts. With so much changing in my life these days, I seem to be getting up very early to have time for myself. Reading your blogs brings a smile to my face. Thanks Nancy 🙂 Your dinner ideas are fun too.

Leave a Reply

