Think This, Not That

Standard
Think This, Not That

Have you heard of the Eat This, Not That books? This is a riff on them. It’s from Tommy Newberry, author of the 4:8 Principle (from Philippians 4:8, you know the one…”think on these things.”) This is something I’ve been thinking a lot about. I don’t routinely think low-self-esteem thoughts but I do find that I have regular thoughts about feeling harried or misunderstood or undervalued. So for me the think this, not that goes something like this…

Think this:

I have as much time as I need to accomplish what I need to accomplish.

Not that:

I will never get this done if ______________ doesn’t _________________.

 

Think this:

I will feel so great when I have accomplished this task.
(i.e. matching the socks in the laundry, folding the clothes, cleaning, organizing, etc.)

Not that:

__________________ will be so grateful when they see what I’ve done for them.

 

Think this:

Today I am thankful.

Not that:

I am unhappy/worried/discontent/frustrated/insert other negative emotion about __________________.

This is kind of an odd mash-up of thoughts from The Happiness Project and The 4:8 Principle and conversations with my sisters but it’s where I’m at right now. You know how that works, right? God doesn’t speak to me in the large booming voice of the Old Testament movies, instead He puts the same message everywhere I turn…in books and conversations, on podcasts and in sermons, and, you guessed it, on pinterest! Here’s the quote I found there today:

“The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another.” -William James

So there you have it, think this, not that. What are some of yours? Share in the comments!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

