What’s for Dinner {Thanksgiving Week}

Standard
What’s for Dinner {Thanksgiving Week}

Glenn and I were out of town last week so no menu posting here. Instead, we were in our nation’s capital visiting the Capitol. (Yes, because I am a freak-y grammar snob, I checked to see how you are supposed to spell *capital. And once again, the English language takes the cake on cray-zee when it comes to rules.) We were there on business but stole a day for fun. It was amazingly beautiful (but a wee bit chilly!) on our day in D.C.

We toured the Capitol and walked the National Mall. And of course, we took the required hold-out-your-own-phone-and-take-a-picture photo.

Now that we’re back it is full-steam-ahead on Thanksgiving. I am working on place-cards and the menu, the grocery list and to-do list for every day so that Thanksgiving dawns on a truly grateful heart. You’ll find some simple meals planned for the interim and also the after-im. (I’m sure there’s an actual word for that but I don’t know it and I’m on reserve battery at this point.)

Here’s the menu:

Monday: Chicken Cacciatore with spaghetti noodles and asparagus…this is from a cooking class Glenn and I took in Bend. Our teacher was Juri Sbandati. It was a blast. (I totally recommend this if your husband is at all interested!) Here’s Juri’s  recipe, remember, English is not his first language.

Pollo Alla Cacciatora

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole chicken (I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts because I am a wimp, am lazy, like the convenience.)
  • 2 celery stalks (I add more because I like the veggies–they get almost sweet and roasted.)
  • 3 carrots (See above.)
  • 1 red onion
  • tomato puree (I use a small can)
  • red wine (about a glass)

Procedure:

Salt and pepper to your liking. Clean the whole chicken then butcher the chicken properly. Cover the chicken in olive oil and brown. In a separate pan, saute in olive oil the chopped celery, carrot and onion. Add the chicken. When the pan is very hot, add red wine and when evaporated, add the tomato puree. Simmer and then cook in the oven at 375 until cooked through.

Tuesday: Ground Beef and Baked Beans Casserole with poppin’ fresh biscuits. This recipe is from the Deen Bros. as in Paula Deen so it seems like a guaranteed win. I usually try to make things from scratch (or you know, ingredients I can pronounce) but the Pillsbury biscuits are just the level of yummy and convenience I am looking for.

Wednesday: Cathy’s Beef Stew with Crusty Bread (from Simply So Good) and carrot & celery sticks. I’m not sure where Cath’ got this recipe originally but it’s super yumalicious. It looks totally gross when you put it together and you won’t believe that it will be absolutely succulent when you eat it when you see how easy it is but trust me, it’s all true. And if you haven’t tried this bread yet. Oh. my. word. It’s astonishing. The hardest thing is that you have to have a dutch oven. (Cha-ching.) But once you’ve got it then you can assuage any guilt by making this bread often!

Here’s the recipe for Cathy’s Beef Stew:

Ingredients:

  • 3 pounds lean stew meat, trimmed and cubed
  • 3 large carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, sliced (am including this in the list for integrity but there will be no fungus in my stew)
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 28 ounce can tomatoes, crushed with juice
  • 10 ounce can beef consomme
  • 1/4 cup white wine or water
  • 4 Tablespoons tapioca
  • 1 Tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt and pepper to taste

Procedure:

Mix, cover, and put in oven at 250* for 6 hours or 300* for 3 hours.

Thursday: Thanksgiving (I’ll post our menu tomorrow.)

Friday: Thanksgiving Leftovers After years of having Thanksgiving at Mom and Dad’s and then heading back over the mountain I am totally looking forward to grazing my way through a hot turkey sandwich or just a plate of reheated Thanksgiving. Yum!

Saturday: Turkey Soup Haven’t decided on a recipe for this one yet. Mom always made Turkey Lentil which I hated. Hate-ed. Cathy says she pretended that this was all we had to eat in order to get it down. Mom was a great cook but lentils just are not our thing I guess. So no family recipe on this one. I made one up once that was something like gravy with veggies in it and then I served it over mashed potatoes. I thought it was delicious (I made it up after all) but I’m not sure it was what Glenn was hoping for. I’ll have to check out Pinterest and Epicurious to see what I can find.

And here’s a bonus recipe that I tried tonight. I want to have several choices of quick-breads for Thanksgiving morning or “the morning after.” So I have my favorite Pumpkin Cheese (as in cream cheese) Bread in the freezer and just made a loaf of Lemon Zucchini Bread. Haven’t tasted it yet but it smells fantastic. And I of course love that it’s from NancyCreative. I’d like to make one more but haven’t decided on a flavor…blueberry oat? caramel-glazed apple? chai banana? What’s your favorite? Or check out my Pinterest board (taste {bread}) and tell me which one you think is the winner.

 

One response »

  1. Morning Friend! Chuck would want me to add that Juri may speak with a thick accent, however, he has embraced American transportation. No three wheeled pickup climbing steep Italian hills for him, he drives a Ford F350 King Ranch pickup!

    I love reading about your new chapters friend, thanks for putting to words the many feelings I have had in the last year as well…..

    Love,
    Jana

Leave a Reply

